Isla Tip

Dollars or Pesos? by Senior Editor #1

Walking down the road today I ran into Maria the Peanut Lady. I looked at her little tray quickly to see whether or not she had anything left to sell and low and behold she had only 1 bag of peanuts left . But they were not just normal peanuts, they were the candied peanuts that I love OH so much.

I caught her eye and asked her if she had any peanuts left (I knew she did, but I was being polite) and she told me yes, but only “dulce”.. SOLD!

I knew they were 20 pesos, but on the off chance that I run into her, I ALWAYS pay 50 pesos because I love her SO much and she’s so cute and old. She saw that I was going to hand her 50 pesos and immediately said “tienes dolares?” (Do you have dollars?).

I normally don’t carry dollars around with me but it was her lucky day and I handed her the 5 dollars that someone had given to be just a few hours beforehand. And as I handed her the dollar it occurred to me that she probably makes a lot of money this way.

She is just the cutest thing and I know there are tons of people just like me, who can’t resist her and overpay for her pepitas and cacahuates. I don’t care though.

After I handed her the 5 dollars and told her I wouldn’t be needing change she insisted on giving me “un beso” (a kiss) as a thank you. And my day was made.

The point– Many will tell you that the locals prefer dollars over pesos, but if you happen to run into Maria the Peanut Lady on the beach there are two things you should do:

1. Buy something and

2. pay in dollars if you can. She might even give you a kiss.. if you’re lucky 😉

About uptodateisla

Just another Isla resident bringing island info to the masses. You can expect to find daily photos, news, weather reports, restaurant openings and closings, special event postings and the occasional sunset photo. If you want to see something on here, request it and perhaps it will show up :)
This entry was posted in Isla Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Isla Tip

  1. Ann says:

    We always buy pepitas when we see her–Yum!

  2. Donna says:

    Always pay in dollars? I have to disagree on that one. Maybe not with Maria, as we always pay her well, but paying in dollars at the restaurants around town? The exchange rate is not good when doing that typically. We use pesos, except for small tips and sometimes cabs if we don’t have small enough change in pesos.

    • uptodateisla says:

      to quote the post ” but if you happen to run into Maria the Peanut Lady on the beach there are two things you should do:

      1. Buy something and

      2. pay in dollars if you can. She might even give you a kiss.. if you’re lucky ”

      The post was only referring to Maria, nothing else.

      We do agree that paying in pesos is usually the easiest most accepted way to pay. We thought it was funny that Maria preferred dollars, and wanted to share 🙂

  3. alicia says:

    I’m going to be on the lookout for her!

  4. Karen in OH says:

    I love Maria, and her pepitas, she is so sweet, I will remember that she likes dollars!

  5. Sí, realmente de acuerdo con usted, me gusta tu pagina, algún día voy a volver. Lo voy a guardar en mis favoritos.

Leave a Reply

